Brick is a basic building material of an infrastructure. It is used for the construction of dams, buildings, monuments, bridges, etc. Bricks are available in different materials, sizes, classes and types.  

Have you ever thought why a particular type of brick is used for the construction of your house? Why different infrastructures require different kinds of bricks? In this article, various types of bricks are introduced which are used for different purposes.

The Two Basic Categories of A Brick

  1. Unburnt or Non-fired Bricks
  2. Burnt or Fired Bricks

Unburnt Bricks

The unburnt or non-fired bricks use the sun’s heat to get dried after the moulding process and so these are the sun-dried bricks. In comparison to the burnt bricks, the unburnt bricks have less strength. Hence, these are used to build temporary and cheap structures. The bricks are not used for construction of structures which are exposed to heavy rains.

Burnt bricks

These bricks are produced using brick mould. These brick moulds are burnt in the kiln. Burnt bricks is used widely for several construction purpose. Based on their strength, manufacturing processes and quality, these bricks are divided into four different types which are explained below.

Types Of Bricks Used For The Construction

  1. First-Class Bricks
  2. Second-Class Bricks
  3. Third-Class Bricks
  4. Fourth-Class Bricks

First-class Bricks

The first-class brick has a standard shape and size which makes it easy to be used for several construction purposes. The colour of these bricks is reddish brown. These bricks possess high strength, thus meeting the desirable qualities of a good brick. These bricks are produced by burning the brick moulds in kiln and then immersing them in water for 2 hours. The immersion process helps the bricks to absorb 15% of their weight. These bricks are exclusively used for the construction of permanent and superior construction work.

Second-class Bricks

The second-class bricks are of lower quality as compared to the first-class bricks. These bricks are non-uniformly shaped and are ground moulded. These are produced by burning in kilns but have rough and uneven surface. When immersed in water, these bricks absorb 22% of their weight. Such bricks are also prone to hairline cracks and thus used for the construction of walls which are plastered later.

Third-class Bricks

The third-class bricks don’t meet the required standards of a good brick as they possess low strength. These bricks are ground moulded and burnt in clamps. When immersed in water, these bricks absorb 25%of their weight. These bricks are irregular in shape and thus used to build temporary structures.

Fourth-class Bricks

The fourth-class bricks are not of good quality as they are irregular in shaper and are over burnt thus, darker in colour. These bricks possess complex nature which explains their strength in various cases. These are used for the construction of foundation, roads, floors, etc.

A Thousand Pieces Of You book review Previous post Book Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
Next post What is clinical trial and what are the phases of clinical trial?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Connect With Us


 181    1085

Subscribe to our newsletter today to receive updates of book reviews, technology and wake-up calls.

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

The Enigmatic Creation will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.
%d bloggers like this: